Ekiti Dot Com Website
Ekiti Dot Com Web Site

Welcome to the Home Page of the Kingdom of Iyin-Ekiti

  • Geographical and Historical Background of Iyin-Ekiti
  • Historical Sites
  • Religion
  • Infrastructure and Facilities
  • Traditional Socio-Political Organization
  • Clubs and Associations

  • Geographical and Historical Background of Iyin-Ekiti Back To Iyin Top

    Relocating from four villages to a modern, formidable and united town of Iyin) Toward the end of 1949, a development officer, Mr. T. H. Bedson, was invited by Rev. Mason through Mr. R. A. Fayose (of blessed memory), who was then a teacher at Christ School, Ado-Ekiti, to come and give a lecture. At this lecture, Mr. Bedson spoke of what his duties were and what he had done in two other towns of Odo-Owa and Ifisin.

    An indigene of Iyin and a student of Christ's School present at that lecture, Chief Abiodun Ogundele was able to deduce that this Mr. Bedson could be useful to Iyin in their desire to relocate to a central location. Immediately after the lecture, he went to Chief C. A. Olosunde (also of blessed memory) to draw his attention to the subject of Mr. Bedson's lecture and this interested Chief Olosunde, who with Chief Ogundele called a meeting of Iyin Students in the School (Christ's School, Ado-Ekiti) to discuss the possibility of making use of Mr. Bedson for the coming together of Iyin people.

    In 1950, an enlarged committee of seven, made up of two teachers (Olosunde and Fayose) and five class six students - Chief Abiodun Ogundele, Mr. Fred Popoola, Late Mr. Akintoye Ariyo, Chief J. O. Olofin and Mr. Charles Aderiye - invited Mr. Bedson to a meeting where they briefed him on the need to unite their people by bringing them together in a place. Mr. Bedson took them seriously and held several meetings with the people of Iyin, then known as Uyin.

    At the end of each meeting, Mr. Bedson would come back to brief the committee of his discussions with Uyin people. The committee of seven, which later crystallised into Iyin Rising Stars, would in turn give further advice to him.

    The elders and people were so impressed that a white man had come to talk to them about their own desire. The focal point of his discussions was that in their fragmented settlements, they would not attract government amenities, but would easily enjoy modern amenities provided by government if they could come together as an entity and become one town. He was able to convince them of the need to come together. Then the issue of a place to move to became a great concern to the people.

    To resolve the issue, Mr. Bedson asked four quarters of Araromi, Okesale, Oketoro and Okelawe to go and survey their individual areas for a suitable place that would accommodate the entire Uyin people.He then came to inspect the selected areas and took the patience to survey the four areas selected by the people themselves, taking into consideration the question of size, water, air and the landscape before reaching a conclusion.

    Finally, the present site was unanimously chosen by early May, 1950, having been accepted by the representatives of the people, who accompanied Mr. Bedson at the inspection of each of the four sites earlier identified. To climax the arrangements for shifting to the Central Location, an agreement was signed on May 10, 1950, by the Chiefs and the Community leaders with Mr. T. H. Bedson witnessing.

    The first clearing of the chosen site was performed on June 19, 1950, and it was Chief Olubobokun who picked up one of the cutlasses supplied by Chief Oloyede (of blessed memory) to cut down the first tree. The next and second tree was cut by the Oluyin, Oba Owolabi I and a new Iyin was born.

    The news went round the whole Country that Uyin was going to relocate to a completely new (virgin) land.

    The movement to a new (present) site lasted from 1951 to 1953. There are four quarters in Iyin, namely Oketoro, Iro, Ibedoyin and Okelawe.

    Historical Sites Back To Top

    The following are some of the important historical sites:

    Oja Ojuyin or Ugbogbo market situated about 1.5 kilometres East of the old Okesale site.

    The Okudi Hill which is very close and visible from the old Araromi and Okesale sites.

    Upara Eyemote at Ugbo Ojuyin, which is about half a kilometre from the old Okesale site.

    The Idunrin at Itugba near Yinka Quarry along Iyin-Ado Road.

    The Atiba Market site situated about one kilometer East of the present site.

    ReligionBack To Top
    Churches Mosques
    All Saints Anglican Church Iyin Central Mosque
    Babamuboni Memorial Anglican Church Ahmadiya Mosque
    Catholic Church Sumuratu Muminu Mosque
    Baptist Church
    Methodist Church
    C.A.C, Oke Isegun
    C.A.C, Oke Anu
    C.A.C, Oke Iye
    C.A.C, Oke Irapada
    C.A.C, Oke Itunu
    C.A.C, WOSEM
    Winners Chapel
    Celestial Church of Christ
    Redeemed Christian Church of God
    African Church
    Gospel Faith Mission
    The Christ Apostolic Faith
    Cherubim & Seraphim

    Infrastructure and FacilitiesBack To Top

    Today, Iyin has eight primary and three post primary Schools, four private nursery and primary schools, a modern police station and barracks, a general post office, a local government maternity centre, general hospital, a bank, two petrol stations and two federal establishments.

    Traditional Socio-Political OrganizationBack To Top

    For the purpose of effective administration, Iyin Traditional Society was organized in a hierarchical order made up of groups. The peer groups are the Origbos, the Egiris, the Igbaakins and the Elegbes, with the Agba ilu or Ijoye, the ruling class, at the apex of the hierarchy. Each peer group had special tasks assigned to it.

    Members of the Elegbe peer group for example were the soldiers, some of whose officers were the Oisa, the Oisangan, Sukuru and the Saribi in ascending order of Military rank. The Saribi is the supreme commander. The Elegbe peer group was particularly important in Iyin history because Iyin people were great and famous warriors, hence, Iyin-Ekiti people were described as "Eso Orita m'erun wese, Egirioke Kumore Ogun, Ka Ado Yunogun lari s'Uyin, etupa l'omo Ado riyele"

    Clubs and AssociationsBack To Top

    Social Clubs & Societies

  • Iyin Club
  • Highland Club
  • Egiri-Oke Club
  • Ambassadors Club of Iyin
  • Klub 12
  • Mote Club
  • 1100 Pillar Club
  • Exquisite Sisters
  • Iyin Ladies Circle
  • Young Mothers Association
  • Dynamic Club
  • Ireti Oluwa Club
  • Egbe Eso Orita
  • Oredegbe Club
  • Club Deuxe
  • De-Ultimate Club
  • Prestige Club
  • Iyin United Sisters
  • Links Klobb
  • Amity United Club
  • Merry Sisters Club
  • Upland Social Club
  • Club '85
  • Egiri Star Club
  • De Planners Club
  • Club De Executive
  • Young Ladies Association
  • Iyin Youth Association (Ilorin)
  • Decent Ladies Club
  • Dynamic Dekites Club
  • Iyin Social Club
  • Luminary Club
  • Iyin Coop. Societies
  • Irepodun Women Association
  • Sweet Sisters Club
  • Front Liners Club
  • United Brothers Club
  • Isokan Klob
  • Rosery Club
  • Eminent Club of Iyin Ekiti
  • De-Courage Brothers Club
  • Lions Club, Iyin


    Iyin sons and daughters, let the history of our great warriors serve as motivator for greater unity and dedication among our people.

  • Ekiti Dot Com
    2001 - Copyright UniQue Solutions Int'l Ltd (Nigeria) & UniQue Systems Int'l Inc (Canada)